07
Apr
10

DK’s Taxi Cab Chronicles (from 4/6/10).

I’m sure you didn’t miss me too much…I decided to take a full blogging day off for the first time in quite a while.  Tuesdays were as usual that kind that simply was “bleh”.

My first two passengers gave me a combined venti centavos.  Rakata fuck my life.

My epic fail (on my side) of the day was when I picked up these three people from Alphabet City and they wanted to go to Astoria.  Why they wanted me to make a U-Turn on Avenue A to come scoop them I don’t know but I figured fine…they were going uptown.  No, I can get to Astoria taking the BQE so why not just cross the street SMFH.  Anyhow, smooth sailing but then I get off at the wrong exit.  They were heading to 41st street between 34th and 35th.  I got off at the 30th avenue exit…but that was around 70something street.  I felt hella bad.  I eventually got them there but that $29.50 ride I only told them to give me $26 straight up.  I didn’t deserve a tip or none of that after that disaster.  Fuck Astoria son.

This dude who I picked up on Prince & Mercer street I had a feeling was a bit weird.  “West and Perry Streets thank you.  Go straight til you hit West street then to Perry thank you.”  You should take a couple of bows while you’re at it.  He did…but with a sneezefest.  EHHH-CHUUU EHH-CHUUU CHUUUU CHUUUU CHUUU.  I swear it seemed like when you were at a railroad crossing and you see all those train cars passing by.  This sneezing persisted for 3 minutes and then he finally stopped.  He gave me a $10 and told me to keep the rest.  Then he said “God bless you.”  No, God bless YOU.

Food Spot of the Day: Pepe Verde on 559 Hudson Street (between Perry & West 11th Street).  I went to grab a Panini to go from there and their entire menu (whether you want to stay or go) is all under $15.  You can even get a bottle of wine for you and your date (Pinto Grigio and there’s another kind) for $15 too.  The Italian food they serve smelled hella bangin and the panini was top-notch too.  Gets an A from me.

I picked up this dude who had to had been higher than a giraffe’s pussy because my backseats smelled like weed after he left.  He was headin to Greenhouse on Varick & Spring but he wanted me to drop him off about 2 blocks away from there because he didn’t wanna look suspect waitin there by himself.  He gave me $9 for a $7 which was completely and totally unexpected because I thought he was gonna ask me to take him to Brooklyn first.

Getting $20 for an $18.87 ride sucks.

Newsflash of the day: There’s a street called Beaver on Broadway.  It’s right next to Bowling Green.  I dropped off some Asian chick there and she said “ironic right?”  I stopped myself short.  I don’t think I wanted to know if she had an angry beaver…whatever ha.

This chick comes into my cab sobbing that she needed to go to 18th street and 1st avenue.  Initially I was wonderin why the fuck is her voice cracking as she’s givin directions and her mouth is trembling.  But I picked up her mother from 40th and 2nd and they embraced for a really long time.  It was heartbreaking…something bad must have happened.  I won’t speculate but it was touching.  I was also touched by the $15 they gave me on a $12.50 ride.

They took off my New York Dolls Gentlemen’s Club advertisements and now I have none.  The Broken Meter advertisements perhaps ha?

Random Cab fact of the day: If you report a cabbie for something (i.e. reckless driving, refusing you, etc), the cab driver must report to court…but now the plantiff (in this case you) can either report physically, or through the phone.  Not only that but you will also be given free of charge, a lawyer to help you out.  Talk about stackin the odds on us.

Seeing all these legs and heels out from the ladies makes me wish I worked an office job sometimes instead of most likely being viewed as “creepy” because I sit behind a bumble-bee looking vehicle.

Entirely off-topic but I feel like I need to mention it:  An acquaintance of mine who I have known for several years lost a couple of people very close to him in a heinous crime in Jersey City on Saturday night.  They were a couple who were just coming home from their own engagement party and were just about to simply park their car when three people attempted to carjack them & shot them both twice in the head in this senseless act.  He has helped create a website for the couple to not only celebrate their lives but also for people to help donate.  His goal is to raise $20,000 for a joint plot so they can at least be buried together.  I’m about to donate some cash myself & I encourage yall to do the same.

Next Episode: Thursday at 4:45pm EDT.  And so on.

3 Responses to “DK’s Taxi Cab Chronicles (from 4/6/10).”


  1. 1 M. Wright
    April 7, 2010 at 2:29 am

    Ha I used to work on Broad you know, and Beaver was the next block over. I cop my Cloves over there in the hole in the wall joint next to the burger king ha. The names of streets below the numbered streets have always been hilarious to me lmao

  2. 2 M. Wright
    April 7, 2010 at 2:30 am

    “They took off my New York Dolls Gentlemen’s Club advertisements and now I have none. The Broken Meter advertisements perhaps ha?”

    lmao

  3. 3 M. Wright
    April 7, 2010 at 2:33 am

    And that’s fucked up what happened to that couple. FUCKING NIGGERS.


Leave a Reply

