02
Feb
11

DK’s NYC Taxi Cab Chronicles (from 2/1/11).

I was supposed to had worked on Sunday night…but my new partner forgot to drop off the cab for me, thus that shit ain’t happen.  Besides, I was tired.  It’s been tough for me to get back into the rhythm.

I hit up JFK as I usually do to start the night but I didn’t stay long.  Apparently plenty of flights into JFK were delayed or cancelled…obviously because of the monster storm that was affecting most of the country.  The wait at the lot was nearly three hours so I decided not to be a sucka and wait; so for the first time in history I drove into the city passenger-less.  The roads were still wet but with the freezing drizzle falling, I didn’t wanna take too many chances.  The One Dollar Tip Nation was out in force on this raw night, with my first two passengers greeting me in that fashion.  The strangest thing I noticed while driving down 2nd Avenue and Lexington Avenue though was that the lights were NOT synchronized.  Not used to that.

Things got trickier for me when I picked up a passenger headin back to the home borough to Forest Hills from Union Square.  Why she wanted to take a cab at 745pm when the train is just fine, I don’t know but whatever.  A relatively boring ride until she overhears Beastie Boys being played on my satellite and she wants it bumped up, so I give it to her.  I ain’t know you was into them like that girl.  Anyway, that was a solid fare and she tells me thanks for the fun ride.  How was the ride fun when you’re only talkin to me as you get out the cab?  It’s not as if I was goin Six Flags Great Adventure on the LIE.  Alas, the more you know.

At 830 I decided to go back to JFK to see if anything improved.  It was a tough decision for me because being around Forest Hills I coulda drove back into the city which was probably still decent, went to LGA to check it out or go closer towards home.  JFK was still trash…so me continually second-guessing myself I just decided to go home rather than drive back into Manhattan.  It’s frustrating because I didn’t wanna take a chance of the weather possibly getting worse even though it was a meager freezing drizzle out there, but I also felt like I shoulda went out there for a few more hours.  Maybe I made the right decision, but when you are your own owner, who gives a shit really?  I’ma be workin 5 straight days upcoming anyway.  Let’s do this.  And so on.

1 Response to “DK’s NYC Taxi Cab Chronicles (from 2/1/11).”


  1. 1 Ryan
    February 2, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    glad your back…. keeping me entertained at work!


Leave a Reply

