08
Sep
11

The Jersey Girl.

The Jersey girl gets a bad rap, according to this chick who got in my cab the other night.

“You know, back then when I said I was from Jersey I was asked what exit off the parkway (Garden State) I was off of and/or what town.  Now I get asked how close to the shore or to Jerseylicious I live at.”

Ouch.  But yeah, Jersey has gotten shitted on these past couple of years because of their TV shows.  Kinda crazy that they’d almost would rather be known as the place where the trash goes then being referred to Snooki’s Tanning Palace.  When asked about the Jersey Shore:

“It’s exactly how it is on the show…soooo trashy.  That club they go to all the time Karma, the trashiest place on Earth.”

So maybe not all stereotypes on TV aren’t overblown, then.  You know, I’ve never been to the Jersey Shore (unless you want to count Brigantine) and when I was a teenager I did wanna see what the hype was about with Seaside Heights.  I’m too old for that shit now though.

“I didn’t ask to be a Jersey girl, I was moved into it.”

Yeah that’s what they all say ha.  Her parents used to live in the city but they moved into the burbs when she was around 8 so now she’s a Jersey girl.  Womp womp.  But listen, I have a love-hate relationship with Jersey.  At my old job, I used to go to Jersey often and the people are friendly.  The chicks look on point and almost all of them have soccer legs, which is my weakness.  But man…these motherfuckers CANNOT DRIVE IN THE CITY!  But you already knew that.

And so on.

1 Response to “The Jersey Girl.”


  1. 1 Krissi
    November 21, 2011 at 4:25 pm

    Jersey girls rock 🙂

    As a girl who grew up with a house in Seaside, I have to tell you it is one of those places that NEVER changes. The people who went there 30 years ago are the same types of people who go there now. I haven’t been in 10 years, but it is like a place stuck in time. That being said, I never knew of the “Sleazeside” part of Seaside until I was much older; as a kid it was always BBQ’s, Beach, and Boardwalk 🙂

    Seaside will always hold a special place in my heart!


Leave a Reply

