17
Jul
12

Harlem Hustled.

As you know, this industry giveth and taketh away.  99% of your fares will pay you…some will tip smaller than others yes, but they will at least pay.  You do have that asshole 1% though that will take you for a ride and make you take a L.  And no, these percentages have nothing to do with Occupy Wall Street.  Where the hell are those clowns these days anyway?  Nevermind, no one cares and I need to get back on topic here.

Fresh off of picking up a couple of dudes from the East Village and sending them to Bushwick, I was having a relatively decent Friday night.  Business wasn’t as good for me as I had hoped, since I started my night fairly late…but I was bouncing back nicely.  It was 3am and the plan was for me to troll around Williamsburg for a little while longer to find fares before deciding if it was worth my time to return to Manhattan or to just end my shift.  Heading up Bushwick Avenue I spot a black dude rockin a Yankee fitted (in other terms, a fare that most cabbies would find “undesirable” since he looked hood) and a few cabbies skipped him.  I ultimately picked him up but I did have some reservations that crept in as he was entering the cab.  First, I didn’t notice right away, but he looked high as shit.  Secondly, I was afraid that he was gonna take me to an undesirable neighborhood…but I was assuming somewhere in Brooklyn.  Nevertheless, being black myself, it’s not the best look when you don’t pick up your own people so reservations aside he tells me he’s going to 150th and 8th avenue (Frederick Douglass Blvd)  in Harlem.

Yup…certainly not a place I wanna drive to at 3am.  My partition was mostly closed, which it usually is around that time since I have a sense of paranoia.  Who takes a cab from Bushwick to Harlem?  Although I’ve picked up people in the past in Brooklyn who have gone to Harlem or Washington Heights, this was the first such case someone rode by themselves up there.  He was eerily quiet, probably because he was high as shit.  As I was heading towards the BQE he bitches “Yooo, hop on the highway G!” Dude, relax, I’m getting there.  Obviously I gotta hop on the highway, but don’t act like the highway was a block from where you were at.  G.

So whatever, once I get on the BQE I fly down that shit towards the Triboro (or RFK) Bridge.  I don’t typically gun it at 70-75 but I didn’t feel comfortable with this dude in here so all bets were off.  Got off the bridge, gunned it down the empty Harlem River Drive and exited off the sketchy as fuck 8th avenue & 155th street exit.  It’s never a good look when you see those NYPD towers located in your hood so I gunned it down to his corner and he goes “Right over here G.”  I turn off the meter and the dude…simply opens the door and walks out.

YO, YOU GOTTA PAY FOR THE RIDE.  He simply walks, back turned to me as if he didn’t hear me.  $33.10 fare (which included toll)…unpaid for.

This ungrateful bitchass nigga.  Maybe he knew what he was doing to hitch a free ride.  Maybe he was too high to even realize that he had to pay.  Nah, I’m going with the former…the fuckin faggot knew.  And this retard (myself) was the one to not listen to his first instincts.  I was HEATED, screaming and cussing at myself aloud in the cab like I needed to be sent to Creedmor.  “Why did I pick that fuck boy up?”  “I knew it, I knew it, I knew it!”  Not only wasn’t I paid, but now I’m in taxi no-mans land where I would be nowhere close to picking up a fare.  I was also highly disappointed, because I always hear black people complain about being discriminated against when it comes to fares but I pick up just about everyone.  These are the kind of fuck boy niggas who ruin it for us because you get a bad experience like this, it makes you weary moving forward that it’ll happen again.  Up until that point, I had never had someone simply hop out of the cab.  And the 3-4 times that someone hadn’t paid, they were all white (Kanye Shrug).  Mentally though, I was so enraged that even after taking 5 minutes to compose myself on Columbus Avenue, I felt the need to kick a news-stand and head on home.  I didn’t even want to entertain another passenger, because it was now 330am and everyone would appear to be 10x more obnoxious.  Can’t work with customers in a pissy mood.  Nope.  

Looking back at the whole ordeal, of course it could have been worse.  I could have been stupid and try to chase him down.  But he’s in his hood, his element, and ultimately there’s no justification in making someone pay you $33 when you could lose your life over that.  Would I had rather have taken a smaller L, if anything?  Certainly.  Was I more pissed at the fact that it was that much, PLUS a toll?  Yep.  But for every fuck boy, you WILL occasionally have that passenger who fucks up in your favor and does this: Image

And so on, G.

0 Responses to “Harlem Hustled.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

