28
Aug
12

Heart Attack? Not Exactly, Buddy.

Given the stereotype that “all cabbies in NYC drive crazy”, I can understand people’s concerns when a driver brakes or swerves unexpectedly.  Truth of the matter is, I have the mentality that most people in the city cannot drive because they don’t want to keep it moving.  

Anyhow, I was taking a passenger from JFK into Clinton Hill.  With the Belt up to its usual shenanigans (being packed), I stayed on North Conduit and was cruising down it.  Seemingly out of nowhere though I heard sirens to my left…a cop car traveling at a high rate of speed coming down 130th street expecting cars that were traveling around 40mph to all stop and let it through.  What in God’s name?  Since I noticed him fairly early I was able to press my brakes with enough time so that the car behind me didn’t hit me…nor have the cop car collide into us either.  My passenger though got SHOOK.

Him: YO YOU GOOD MAN??
Me: Yeah I’m fine, thanks for asking.
Him: Damn, I thought you were having a heart attack or something….I was wonderin why you broke so suddenly.
Me: I know, the cop car came outta nowhere but fortunately I had my eyes open.  I was chillin though.  No worries, I’m not gonna die on you.
Him: Where the hell did they come from though to just stop traffic like that?
Me: Shit.
Me: Besides, you’d probably be more shook if I actually yelled than if I didn’t say anything.

I did hear about a cab driver dying of a heart attack not too long ago near the Holland Tunnel so yeah when he said this, it got my mind going a bit.  But, I’m doing everything in my power to ensure that I’ll never be one of those people by eating consciously and keeping to a workout routine.  There aren’t many jobs out there that are more sedentary than driving a cab.  The height of any athletic activity you may do is walking a few steps to a store to grab something to eat…then you eat and sit again.  Sit.  Eat.  Stand.  Sleep.  Repeat.  Fuck all that noise.

And so on.

1 Response to “Heart Attack? Not Exactly, Buddy.”


  1. August 28, 2012 at 12:51 pm

    Don’t die on me bro


Leave a Reply

